International Society of Bengal Studies was formed during the 1st International Congress of Bengal Studies held in Delhi.  On the concluding day of the Congress, 28th February, 2010, Nilratan Sen Plenary was held for the formation of a professional body for Bengal Studies. After detail deliberation, scholars agreed on the need of forming a platform of Bengal Studies professionals for undertaking initiatives for the continuity of interaction between Bengal Studies scholars through organizing International Congress of Bengal Studies at regular interval and through other projects.

The first Executive Council of the Society was formed in the same meeting with individual office bearers. Prof. Tsuyoshi Nara, Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Japan, was nominated as the President of the Society and Dr. Amitava Chakraborty, University of Delhi, was nominated as the General Secretary of the Society. General Body meeting of the Society is held bi-annually during the International Congress of Bengal Studies. The Society has two country chapters, the Bangladesh Chapter and the India Chapter.

The Society publishes a double-blind peer-reviewed journal, Bangabidya: International Journal of Bengal Studies with an editorial team consisting of scholars from various continents.

The Society has also instituted an award, Bangabidya Sammanana, awarded in recognition of the contribution by scholars hailing from countries outside the Indian subcontinent. The recipients till date are:

1st Bangabidya Sammanana:  Prof. Dusan Zbavitel, Czech Republic.

2nd Bangabidya Sammanana: Prof. Ralph Nicholas, USA.

The Society successfully collaborated with the University of Dhaka and Bangla Academy, Dhaka, to organize the 2nd International Congress of Bengal Studies during 17th – 20th December, 2011; with the University of Calcutta, Kolkata, for organizing the 3rd ICBS during 19th – 22nd November, 2013. The Society has collaborated with the Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Japan, for organizing the 4th ICBS during 11-14 December, 2015.

Share This: